Small Landlord Software

Home / Rent payment apps

Rent Payment Apps for Landlords

Where one fee is published, tenant bank-transfer fees run from $1.00 (RentRedi) to $2.50 (Landlord Studio) per payment, and some paid plans make them free (TurboTenant Pro, Rentec Direct Pro, DoorLoop Connect). Card payments cost 2.95% to 3.5%, about $44 to $53 a month on $1,500 rent, usually paid by the tenant. Five apps let you collect rent on a free plan.

Last checked October 22, 2026. Every price and term comes from the company's own website. How we verify

At a glance

  1. Lowest bank fee (per payment)$1.00 (RentRedi)
  2. Free bank paymentsTurboTenant Pro; Rentec Direct Pro (1 per property a month)
  3. Card fees2.95% to 3.5%
  4. Free plans with online rent5 apps
Compare fees
On this page
  1. Rent payment fees by app
  2. What bank-transfer fees cost a tenant in a year
  3. What card payments cost on $1,500 rent
  4. Who pays the fees
  5. How fast rent reaches you
  6. Features that save you work
  7. Rent apps versus general payment apps
  8. How to choose
  9. Frequently asked questions

Rent payment fees by app

AppBank transfer (ACH)CardSoftware price
TurboTenant$2 paid by renter; waived on Pro3.49% paid by renterFree; paid plans from $149 a year
InnagoNot publishedNot publishedFree
Baselane$2; you can cover it, pass it to the tenant, or waive it by depositing into a Baselane account3.49% paid by tenantFree (Core); Smart $20/mo billed yearly
StessaNo-fee ACH option for landlords; tenant-side fee not statedNot statedFree; Manage $15/mo ($12/mo yearly)
Landlord Studio$2.50 per payment; you choose landlord or tenant pays3.49% paid by tenantFree up to 3 units; Pro $15/mo
RentRedi$1.00, tenant pays by default; you can cover it3.1% + $0.30, tenant pays by default$12/mo billed yearly; $29.95 month to month
TenantCloudTenant pays: $1.95 Starter, $1.75 Growth, $1.50 Pro3.5% + $0.30Starter $180/yr
Rentec DirectStarter $2.00; Pro free for one payment per property a month, then $0.50Starter 3.50%, Pro 2.95%; you choose who paysStarter $25/mo (up to 10 properties)
RentPost$1.50, tenant pays2.99% (Amex 3.59%), tenant pays$29/mo + $1 per unit
BuildiumIncoming EFT $2.35; $99 bank account setup fee; payer not stated2.99%; payer not statedEssential from $62/mo
DoorLoop$1.50 incoming on One; free on Connect and Multiply3.25% charged to tenant (4% international cards)$2.50/unit/mo, minimum $199/mo

From each company's own pricing page or help center, checked October 22, 2026.

What bank-transfer fees cost a tenant in a year

One tenant paying rent online by bank transfer every month (12 payments), at each app's standard per-payment fee:

RentRedi$12 ($1 x 12)
RentPost$18 ($1.50 x 12)
TenantCloud$23.40 ($1.95 x 12)
TurboTenant$24 ($2 x 12)
Rentec Direct$24 ($2 x 12)
Buildium$28.20 ($2.35 x 12)
Landlord Studio$30 ($2.50 x 12)

Some plans make it free: TurboTenant Pro waives the renter's bank fee, Rentec Direct Pro includes one free incoming bank payment per property a month, and DoorLoop Connect and Multiply list free incoming bank payments. Baselane waives its $2 fee when rent is deposited into a Baselane account.

What card payments cost on $1,500 rent

AppCard feePer monthPer year
Rentec Direct (Pro)2.95%$44.25$531.00
RentPost2.99%$44.85$538.20
Buildium2.99%$44.85$538.20
RentRedi3.10% + $0.30$46.80$561.60
DoorLoop3.25%$48.75$585.00
TurboTenant3.49%$52.35$628.20
Baselane3.49%$52.35$628.20
Landlord Studio3.49%$52.35$628.20
Rentec Direct (Starter)3.50%$52.50$630.00
TenantCloud3.50% + $0.30$52.80$633.60

Computed from the published percentage (and per-payment fee where stated) on a $1,500 rent. Card fees are usually paid by the tenant; Rentec Direct lets you choose. Rentec Direct charges 3.50% for American Express on every edition, RentPost 3.59%.

Who pays the fees

  • Tenant pays: TurboTenant (bank fee waived on Pro), RentPost, TenantCloud.
  • Tenant by default, you can cover it: RentRedi.
  • You choose: Landlord Studio, Baselane, Rentec Direct (cards).
  • Not stated: Buildium's incoming EFT fee and card fee; Innago and Stessa do not publish tenant fees.

How fast rent reaches you

Few companies publish payout times on their pricing pages. What they do say: Baselane lists 2-day rent deposits on its Smart plan; Stessa lists accelerated rent payments on Manage and Pro; TurboTenant lists expedited rent payouts among its features; RentPost says bank payments have a 3-day bank hold and card payments get next-day funding. If timing matters, ask before you switch, and keep a cushion for the first month.

Features that save you work

Autopay and reminders

RentRedi lists AutoPay and smart reminders on every plan; Baselane Core automates rent and reminders; Landlord Studio's automated rent reminders start on Pro.

Automatic late fees

Baselane Core, Landlord Studio (all plans) and RentRedi apply late fees automatically. Keep them within your lease and state law.

Partial payments

Landlord Studio lists partial payments on every plan. Decide in your lease whether you accept them.

Cash payments

RentRedi accepts cash; Rentec Direct Pro and PM offer a cash payment network ($200 setup, $4.99 per payment paid by the tenant).

Rent apps versus general payment apps

A general payment app moves money between people, but it does not tie a payment to a unit and a lease, charge rent on schedule, apply late fees or keep a ledger. A rent app does all of that and gives both sides a payment history, which doubles as proof of rent. If you do take payments by a general app, record each one in a rent ledger and send a receipt.

How to choose

  • Lowest cost for you: a free plan where the tenant pays the fee (TurboTenant Free, Innago, Baselane Core, Stessa Essentials, Landlord Studio Go).
  • Lowest cost for your tenants: TurboTenant Pro ($199 a year at 1 to 10 units) or Rentec Direct Pro, which make standard bank payments free; RentRedi charges tenants $1.00.
  • Fastest deposits: Baselane Smart (2-day) or Stessa Manage (accelerated).
  • Everything for one price: RentRedi at $144 a year on the annual plan.

See all 11 landlord apps compared or the free options.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best app for collecting rent?

For no cost to you, TurboTenant Free, Innago, Baselane Core, Stessa Essentials or Landlord Studio Go (up to 3 units), with tenants paying the payment fees. For the lowest tenant fees, TurboTenant Pro or Rentec Direct Pro make standard bank payments free, and RentRedi charges tenants $1.00.

Is there a free rent payment app for landlords?

Yes. TurboTenant, Innago, Baselane, Stessa and Landlord Studio (up to 3 units) let you collect rent online on a free plan. Tenants usually pay a per-payment fee instead.

How much do rent payment apps charge?

Bank transfers run from $1.00 (RentRedi) to $2.50 (Landlord Studio) per payment where a single fee is published, and are free on some paid plans. Card payments cost 2.95% to 3.5%, sometimes plus $0.30.

Can tenants pay rent with a credit card?

Yes, on every app compared here that publishes a card fee. The tenant usually pays it: about $44 to $53 a month on $1,500 rent.

Who pays the rent payment fee?

It depends on the app. TurboTenant, RentPost and TenantCloud charge tenants; RentRedi charges tenants by default but lets you cover it; Landlord Studio and Baselane let you choose.

How long do online rent payments take?

It varies and few companies publish it. RentPost, for example, says bank payments have a 3-day hold and card payments get next-day funding; Baselane offers 2-day deposits on Smart.