Home / Free options
Free Property Management Software for Landlords
Five companies publish a free plan for landlords: TurboTenant, Innago, Baselane, Stessa and Landlord Studio (up to 3 units). They make money from fees, mostly paid by tenants for online rent payments and screening, so the real cost depends on those fees.
| Free plan | Unit limit | What the free plan includes | Where the money comes from |
|---|---|---|---|
| TurboTenant Free | Not stated | Listings on 25+ sites, applications, screening, online rent collection | Renter pays $2 per ACH payment (waived on Pro) and 3.49% by card; applicant pays $45 or $55 for screening |
| Innago | Not stated | Rent collection, screening, lease signing, maintenance requests | Tenant payment and screening fees; amounts not published |
| Baselane Core | Not stated | Banking, bookkeeping, rent collection | $2 ACH fee (you choose who pays, or waive it by depositing into Baselane); 3.49% card fee paid by tenant; $24.99+ screening paid by applicant |
| Stessa Essentials | Unlimited properties, 1 portfolio | Accounting, Zillow listings | State leases $15 each; screening $29 to $49 |
| Landlord Studio Go | Up to 3 units, 1 user | Listings, screening, online rent, 10 document slots, basic reports | Screening is $55 on Go (vs $45 on Pro); $2.50 ACH; 3.49% card |
Which free option fits
- You want to fill a vacancy: TurboTenant Free (25+ listing sites) or Stessa Essentials (Zillow).
- You mostly need rent and books in one place: Baselane Core.
- You have 3 units or fewer and may upgrade later: Landlord Studio Go.
- You never want a paid tier: Innago, which has none.
When it is worth paying
Paid plans mostly remove fees or add automation. TurboTenant Pro waives the renter's $2 bank-transfer fee; Landlord Studio Pro cuts screening from $55 to $45 and adds AI bookkeeping and bank feeds; Stessa Manage adds unlimited lease forms and an e-signature each month. See the full pricing comparison.