Best Property Management Software for Small Landlords (2026)
For most landlords with 1 to 10 units, a free plan covers the basics: TurboTenant Free, Innago, Baselane Core, Stessa Essentials, or Landlord Studio Go for 3 units or fewer. The cheapest paid plans with unlimited units are RentRedi and Stessa Manage ($144 a year each on annual billing) and TenantCloud Starter ($180 a year). Check who pays rent-payment and screening fees, because that is where free software earns its money.
Quick picks
- Free with the most built in: TurboTenant Free: listings on 25+ sites, screening and online rent collection at $0. Details
- Free, no paid tiers at all: Innago is free for landlords; it earns from tenant payment and screening fees. Details
- Free banking and bookkeeping: Baselane Core. Details
- 3 units or fewer: Landlord Studio Go is free up to 3 units. Details
- Lowest paid price for unlimited units: RentRedi or Stessa Manage at $144 a year on annual billing; TenantCloud Starter at $180 a year. Details
- Cheapest screening: Rentec Direct Pro, from $10 a report. Details
The software compared
| Software | Price | Free plan | Free trial | Yearly cost, 5 units | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TurboTenant | Free; paid plans from $149 a year | Yes | No (free plan instead) | $0 (Free) or $149 (Essentials) | Free plan with listings, screening and rent collection |
| Innago | Free | Yes (only offering) | Not needed | $0 | Completely free software |
| Baselane | Free (Core); Smart $20/mo billed yearly | Yes (Core) | 30 days of Smart | $0 (Core) or $240 (Smart, annual) | Free banking and bookkeeping built around rent |
| Stessa | Free; Manage $15/mo ($12/mo yearly) | Yes (Essentials) | Not stated | $0 (Essentials) or $144 (Manage, annual) | Free accounting with bank feeds for unlimited properties |
| Landlord Studio | Free up to 3 units; Pro $15/mo | Yes (Go, up to 3 units) | 14 days of Pro, no card | $208.80 (Pro, monthly: $15 + 2 extra units x $1.20) | Free for 3 units or fewer |
| RentRedi | $12/mo billed yearly; $29.95 month to month | No | No trial; 30-day money-back guarantee | $144 (annual plan) | Unlimited units for one flat price |
| TenantCloud | Starter $180/yr | No | 14 days on every plan | $180 (Starter, annual) | Unlimited units with tiered lease limits |
| Rentec Direct | Starter $25/mo (up to 10 properties) | No | Two weeks, all editions | $300 (Starter, monthly) | Low-cost screening |
| RentPost | $29/mo + $1 per unit | No | 30 days, no card | $408 ($29 + 5 units x $1, monthly) | Simple per-unit pricing |
| Buildium | Essential from $62/mo | No | 14 days with sample data, no card | from $744 (Essential) | Growing portfolios that need full accounting |
| DoorLoop | $2.50/unit/mo, minimum $199/mo | No | Not stated | $2,388 (One plan minimum, monthly) | Larger portfolios (minimums apply) |
"Yearly cost, 5 units" is what you would pay the software company at list price for 5 units. It excludes fees your tenants pay. Listed roughly from lowest to highest cost for a small landlord. No company paid for placement.
How we picked
We compared property management software that small landlords commonly consider and that publishes its prices. For each company we read its own pricing page, feature pages and help center on October 22, 2026, and recorded only what those pages state. Where a company's own pages disagree, we say so. We did not sign up for paid plans, so we do not rate ease of use.
Fees: rent payments and screening
Free and cheap software usually makes its money here, so compare these before you choose.
| Software | Bank (ACH) rent payment | Card rent payment | Tenant screening |
|---|---|---|---|
| TurboTenant | $2 paid by renter; waived on Pro | 3.49% paid by renter | $45 or $55 depending on your plan; applicant pays by default |
| Innago | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Baselane | $2; you can cover it, pass it to the tenant, or waive it by depositing into a Baselane account | 3.49% paid by tenant | $24.99 basic; criminal +$5, eviction +$10, income verification +$10; applicant pays |
| Stessa | No-fee ACH option for landlords; tenant-side fee not stated | Not stated | Credit only $29; background only $29; complete package $49 (run through RentPrep) |
| Landlord Studio | $2.50 per payment; you choose landlord or tenant pays | 3.49% paid by tenant | $45 on Pro, $55 on Go; you choose who pays |
| RentRedi | $1.00, tenant pays by default; you can cover it | 3.1% + $0.30, tenant pays by default | $39.99 (credit, criminal, eviction); $49.99 with income verification; tenant pays |
| TenantCloud | Tenant pays: $1.95 Starter, $1.75 Growth, $1.50 Pro | 3.5% + $0.30 | Applicant pays; price not shown on its site |
| Rentec Direct | Starter $2.00; Pro free for one payment per property a month, then $0.50 | Starter 3.50%, Pro 2.95%; you choose who pays | Starter $14.95 / $20.95 / $29.45; Pro $10 / $13 / $18 |
| RentPost | $1.50, tenant pays | 2.99% (Amex 3.59%), tenant pays | Basic $29, Premium $39; applicant or landlord pays |
| Buildium | Incoming EFT $2.35; $99 bank account setup fee; payer not stated | 2.99%; payer not stated | $17, or $35 paid by the applicant |
| DoorLoop | $1.50 incoming on One; free on Connect and Multiply | 3.25% charged to tenant (4% international cards) | $35 on each plan |
1. TurboTenant: best for free plan with listings, screening and rent collection
Price: Free; paid plans from $149 a year. Free trial: No (free plan instead). Yearly cost for 5 units: $0 (Free) or $149 (Essentials).
Plans
| Plan | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Listings, screening, online rent |
| Essentials | $149/yr (1-10 units), $199 (11-30), $299 (31-60), $349 (61+) | Billed yearly |
| Pro | $199/yr (1-10 units), $399 (11-30), $699 (31-60), $999 (61+) | Billed yearly |
Fees your tenants or you pay
- Bank (ACH) rent payment: $2 paid by renter; waived on Pro
- Card rent payment: 3.49% paid by renter
- Tenant screening: $45 or $55 depending on your plan; applicant pays by default
What you get
- Free plan lets you list and market rentals, screen applicants and collect rent online.
- Listings are advertised on 25+ rental sites.
- Builds, e-signs and stores state-specific leases; tracks income and expenses by property; online repair requests.
- Landlords pay $0 for screening reports and online applications, even on the free plan.
Watch out for
- TurboTenant does not say which plan gets the $45 screening price and which gets $55.
- Its pricing page shows renter ACH as free in one place and $2 in another; its help center says $2 is standard and waived on Pro.
Visit TurboTenant Source: official pricing page, checked October 22, 2026.
2. Innago: best for completely free software
Price: Free. Free trial: Not needed. Yearly cost for 5 units: $0.
Plans
| Plan | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | No monthly fee, no setup fee, no contract |
Fees your tenants or you pay
- Bank (ACH) rent payment: Not published
- Card rent payment: Not published
- Tenant screening: Not published
What you get
- Innago states it is completely free for landlords, with no trial, subscription or contract.
- Its site shows rent collection, tenant screening, lease signing and maintenance requests.
- Apps on the Apple App Store and Google Play.
- Innago says it earns money from payment processing fees when tenants pay online and from screening.
Watch out for
- We could not find the dollar amount of Innago's payment or screening fees on its website.
Visit Innago Source: official pricing page, checked October 22, 2026.
3. Baselane: best for free banking and bookkeeping built around rent
Price: Free (Core); Smart $20/mo billed yearly. Free trial: 30 days of Smart. Yearly cost for 5 units: $0 (Core) or $240 (Smart, annual).
Plans
| Plan | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Core | $0 | Banking, bookkeeping, rent collection |
| Smart | $20/mo on an annual plan | Advanced automations; 30-day free trial |
Fees your tenants or you pay
- Bank (ACH) rent payment: $2; you can cover it, pass it to the tenant, or waive it by depositing into a Baselane account
- Card rent payment: 3.49% paid by tenant
- Tenant screening: $24.99 basic; criminal +$5, eviction +$10, income verification +$10; applicant pays
What you get
- Core is free for banking, bookkeeping and rent collection.
- Automatic invoices and reminders for rent, deposits and late fees.
- Online lease signing and a tenant portal.
- iOS and Android apps.
Watch out for
- Baselane's fee table lists ACH as "$2 - $5" while its FAQ says $2.
- The month-to-month price of Smart is not published.
Visit Baselane Source: official pricing page, checked October 22, 2026.
4. Stessa: best for free accounting with bank feeds for unlimited properties
Price: Free; Manage $15/mo ($12/mo yearly). Free trial: Not stated. Yearly cost for 5 units: $0 (Essentials) or $144 (Manage, annual).
Plans
| Plan | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Essentials | $0 | Unlimited properties, 1 portfolio |
| Manage | $15/mo, or $12/mo paid yearly | Unlimited leases, 1 e-signature a month |
| Pro | $35/mo, or $28/mo paid yearly | Unlimited portfolios, 7 e-signatures a month |
Fees your tenants or you pay
- Bank (ACH) rent payment: No-fee ACH option for landlords; tenant-side fee not stated
- Card rent payment: Not stated
- Tenant screening: Credit only $29; background only $29; complete package $49 (run through RentPrep)
What you get
- Unlimited properties on every plan; automatic bank feeds for income and expense tracking.
- Listings syndicate to Zillow on all plans.
- State lease forms: $15 each on Essentials, unlimited on Manage.
- Apps on the App Store and Google Play.
Watch out for
- Stessa's screening page says fees are paid by tenants, but marks the background-only package "landlord pay only".
Visit Stessa Source: official pricing page, checked October 22, 2026.
5. Landlord Studio: best for free for 3 units or fewer
Price: Free up to 3 units; Pro $15/mo. Free trial: 14 days of Pro, no card. Yearly cost for 5 units: $208.80 (Pro, monthly: $15 + 2 extra units x $1.20).
Plans
| Plan | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Go | $0 | Up to 3 units, 1 user |
| Pro | $15/mo ($144/yr) | 3 units included, then $1.20 per unit; up to 3 users |
| Pro Plus | $35/mo ($336/yr) | 3 units included, then $1.20 per unit; up to 10 users |
Fees your tenants or you pay
- Bank (ACH) rent payment: $2.50 per payment; you choose landlord or tenant pays
- Card rent payment: 3.49% paid by tenant
- Tenant screening: $45 on Pro, $55 on Go; you choose who pays
What you get
- Go includes listings and syndication, screening, online rent collection, 10 document slots and basic reports.
- AI bookkeeping and bank feeds on Pro and Pro Plus.
- Tenant portal on all plans; iOS and Android apps.
Watch out for
- The pricing page's plan cards show 12.00 in British pounds; the US comparison table shows $15 and $35. We use the US table.
Visit Landlord Studio Source: official pricing page, checked October 22, 2026.
6. RentRedi: best for unlimited units for one flat price
Price: $12/mo billed yearly; $29.95 month to month. Free trial: No trial; 30-day money-back guarantee. Yearly cost for 5 units: $144 (annual plan).
Plans
| Plan | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly | $29.95/mo | Unlimited properties and tenants |
| 6-month | $20/mo | Unlimited |
| Annual | $12/mo ($144 a year) | Unlimited |
Fees your tenants or you pay
- Bank (ACH) rent payment: $1.00, tenant pays by default; you can cover it
- Card rent payment: 3.1% + $0.30, tenant pays by default
- Tenant screening: $39.99 (credit, criminal, eviction); $49.99 with income verification; tenant pays
What you get
- Unlimited properties and tenants on every plan.
- One listing posts to Zillow, Realtor.com, Trulia and HotPads.
- Tenants pay by ACH, card or cash; e-sign leases in the app; in-app maintenance requests.
- iOS and Android apps.
Watch out for
- RentRedi's pricing FAQ lists screening and credit reporting ($5.99/mo) as the only optional costs, but its help center lists tenant ACH and card fees.
Visit RentRedi Source: official pricing page, checked October 22, 2026.
7. TenantCloud: best for unlimited units with tiered lease limits
Price: Starter $180/yr. Free trial: 14 days on every plan. Yearly cost for 5 units: $180 (Starter, annual).
Plans
| Plan | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $18/mo or $180/yr | Unlimited units; 10 leases |
| Growth | $35/mo or $350/yr | Unlimited units; 30 leases |
| Pro | $60/mo or $600/yr | Unlimited units; 60 leases; owner portal |
| Business | from $100/mo | Custom |
Fees your tenants or you pay
- Bank (ACH) rent payment: Tenant pays: $1.95 Starter, $1.75 Growth, $1.50 Pro
- Card rent payment: 3.5% + $0.30
- Tenant screening: Applicant pays; price not shown on its site
What you get
- Unlimited properties and units on every plan; plans differ by number of leases.
- E-signature and document templates; unlimited online maintenance requests.
- Separate apps for landlords, tenants, service pros and owners.
Watch out for
- TenantCloud's pricing page shows Starter as $18.00 in one place and $25/mo in another.
Visit TenantCloud Source: official pricing page, checked October 22, 2026.
8. Rentec Direct: best for low-cost screening
Price: Starter $25/mo (up to 10 properties). Free trial: Two weeks, all editions. Yearly cost for 5 units: $300 (Starter, monthly).
Plans
| Plan | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $25/mo | Up to 10 properties and tenants |
| Pro | from $50/mo, scales with units | Save $60 billed yearly |
| PM | from $50/mo, scales with units | For property managers; owner portal |
Fees your tenants or you pay
- Bank (ACH) rent payment: Starter $2.00; Pro free for one payment per property a month, then $0.50
- Card rent payment: Starter 3.50%, Pro 2.95%; you choose who pays
- Tenant screening: Starter $14.95 / $20.95 / $29.45; Pro $10 / $13 / $18
What you get
- Screening on Pro starts at $10, the lowest published screening price we found.
- Tenant portal; owner portal on the PM edition.
- Dropbox Sign integration for e-signatures.
Watch out for
- Starter is capped at 10 properties and tenants.
- Pro prices at specific unit counts are shown on a slider we could not read.
Visit Rentec Direct Source: official pricing page, checked October 22, 2026.
9. RentPost: best for simple per-unit pricing
Price: $29/mo + $1 per unit. Free trial: 30 days, no card. Yearly cost for 5 units: $408 ($29 + 5 units x $1, monthly).
Plans
| Plan | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Pro | $29/mo + $1.00 per unit | Annual billing saves 10% |
Fees your tenants or you pay
- Bank (ACH) rent payment: $1.50, tenant pays
- Card rent payment: 2.99% (Amex 3.59%), tenant pays
- Tenant screening: Basic $29, Premium $39; applicant or landlord pays
What you get
- One plan (Pro Subscription) with a 30-day trial of every feature.
- Tenant portal and owner access; online maintenance requests and accounting.
Watch out for
- Volume pricing above 1,000 units is by quote.
Visit RentPost Source: official pricing page, checked October 22, 2026.
10. Buildium: best for growing portfolios that need full accounting
Price: Essential from $62/mo. Free trial: 14 days with sample data, no card. Yearly cost for 5 units: from $744 (Essential).
Plans
| Plan | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Essential | from $62/mo | |
| Growth | from $192/mo | |
| Premium | from $400/mo |
Fees your tenants or you pay
- Bank (ACH) rent payment: Incoming EFT $2.35; $99 bank account setup fee; payer not stated
- Card rent payment: 2.99%; payer not stated
- Tenant screening: $17, or $35 paid by the applicant
What you get
- Lease templates and applicant e-signatures; e-signature is $5 per document on Essential.
- Owners Portal and Resident Portal are listed; the pricing page does not show which plans include them.
Watch out for
- Prices are "starting at" figures.
- Online payments carry a $99 bank account setup fee.
Visit Buildium Source: official pricing page, checked October 22, 2026.
11. DoorLoop: best for larger portfolios (minimums apply)
Price: $2.50/unit/mo, minimum $199/mo. Free trial: Not stated. Yearly cost for 5 units: $2,388 (One plan minimum, monthly).
Plans
| Plan | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| One | $2.50/unit/mo | Minimum $199/mo |
| Connect | $4.00/unit/mo | Minimum $299/mo |
| Multiply | $5.00/unit/mo | Minimum $399/mo |
Fees your tenants or you pay
- Bank (ACH) rent payment: $1.50 incoming on One; free on Connect and Multiply
- Card rent payment: 3.25% charged to tenant (4% international cards)
- Tenant screening: $35 on each plan
What you get
- Yearly billing saves up to 25%.
- Owner portal and tenant portal; iOS and Android apps.
Watch out for
- The $199 monthly minimum equals the per-unit price of about 80 units, so a smaller landlord pays the minimum.
- Its pricing page lists a $1.50 ACH fee on One, but a help article says no plan charges per ACH payment.
Visit DoorLoop Source: official pricing page, checked October 22, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best property management software for a small landlord?
For 1 to 10 units, start with a free plan: TurboTenant Free, Innago, Baselane Core or Stessa Essentials, or Landlord Studio Go if you have 3 units or fewer. If you want a paid plan with unlimited units, RentRedi and Stessa Manage cost $144 a year on annual billing and TenantCloud Starter $180 a year. Buildium and DoorLoop are built for larger portfolios.
Is there free property management software?
Yes. TurboTenant, Innago, Baselane, Stessa and Landlord Studio (up to 3 units) all publish a free plan. Most make money from fees your tenants pay for online rent or screening, so check the fee table before you choose.
Who pays the rent payment fees?
It depends on the company. TurboTenant, RentPost and TenantCloud charge bank-transfer fees to the tenant. RentRedi charges the tenant by default but lets you cover it. Landlord Studio and Baselane let you choose. Card payments are usually paid by the tenant, at about 2.95% to 3.5%, sometimes plus $0.30 per payment.
How much does tenant screening cost?
Published prices we found range from $10 (Rentec Direct Pro, basic report) to $55 (TurboTenant and Landlord Studio Go). Most companies charge the applicant, not the landlord.
Why is Avail not on this list?
Avail's website blocked our automated check on October 22, 2026, so we could not verify its prices. We only list software whose prices we have read on the company's own site.